World War II Love Stories: The True Stories of 14 Couples Love Stories Series Book 3

#ad
Ivy Press #ad - World war ii love stories tells the tales of 14 very different couples. Moving, real-life love stories from the greatest conflict in recent history, with atmospheric photographs and ephemera for every couple. Includes the tales of couples who crossed class and country divides to be with one another – and tells what happened to them after the war.

. The second world war played havoc with millions of lives, and all over the world lovers were pulled apart, often just as their stories together were beginning.

#ad



Royal Love Stories: The tales behind the real-life romances of Europe's kings & queens Love Stories Series Book 6

#ad
Ivy Press #ad - This book is full of surprises, from the “undying love” that the last Tsar of Russia, Nicholas II, felt for his Tsarina, to the unlikely love that flourished between Louis XVI and Marie Antoinette. Amongst them, countess mary vetsera, are less happy loves – of crown prince Rudolph for his 17-year-old lover, too, of the Prince of Sweden, or, in the 1940s, refused consent to marry the girl he loved – she only became his princess over 30 years later.

Bringing the reader right up to modern times, and tragic by turns, absorbing, and touching, these stories bring the glamour and the contradictions of royalty vividly to life. With the letters, personal accounts, and memorabilia that tell the real tales behind the contemporary headlines.

#ad



Titanic Love Stories: The true stories of 13 honeymoon couples who sailed on the Titanic Love Stories Series Book 1

#ad
Ivy Press #ad - Titanic love stories uncovers all the poignant detail behind the contemporary headlines. The sinking of the rms titanic was a tragedy for all the 1, 517 people who died, but the accounts of 13 brides and grooms who joined the ship to celebrate their honeymoons are notably moving.

#ad



No Place For A Lady: A sweeping wartime romance full of courage and passion

#ad
Avon #ad - But the young lucy is fighting her own battles, can these two sisters find their way back to each other? Or will tragedy intervene?A spellbinding tale of courage, and not everyone wants to be found…Against the backdrop of one of history’s most heartbreaking wars, adventure and true love from the bestselling author of The Secret Wife.

. Dorothea gray has not seen her little sister Lucy since she eloped with the handsome Captain Charlie Harvington and set sail for the Crimea. Now, dorothea must risk everything to find her sister and join Florence Nightingale in the Crimean hospitals, as the war worsens and the battlefields darken with blood, nursing the injured soldiers back to health.

No Place For A Lady: A sweeping wartime romance full of courage and passion #ad - Praise for gill paul: ‘A cleverly crafted novel and an enthralling story… A triumph. Dinah jefferies ‘gripping, romantic and evocative of its time. Lulu taylor the year is 1854, and Britain is in the grip of a gruesome war.

#ad



World War I Love Stories: Real-life Romances from the War that Shook the World Love Stories Series Book 2

#ad
Ivy Press #ad - The global conflict would destroy families and change lives forever. World war i love stories tells the unforgettable stories of lovers brought together or torn apart by the Great War. 1914 saw the beginning of a war that would be fought around the world—the start of four years of relentless fighting, women, which would lead to the deaths of 17 million men, and children.

These are tales of romance and sometimes great tragedy, but most of all they are tales of enduring love at a time when the world was full of horror.

#ad



Women and Children First: Bravery, love and fate: the untold story of the doomed Titanic

#ad
Avon #ad - A gripping read from the bestselling author of The Secret Wife. Praise for gill paul: ‘A cleverly crafted novel and an enthralling story… A triumph. Dinah jefferies ‘gripping, romantic and evocative of its time. Lulu taylor it is 1912. On the boats are four survivors. Reg, a titled english lady who is pregnant and unmarried, an Irishwoman travelling to America with her children; Juliet, and George, a handsome young steward working in the first-class dining room; Annie, a troubled American millionaire.

In the wake of the tragedy, each of these people must try to rebuild their lives. But how can life ever be the same again when you’ve heard over a thousand people dying in the water around you?Haunting, emotional and beautifully written, Women and Children First breathes fresh life into the most famous disaster of the 20th century.

Women and Children First: Bravery, love and fate: the untold story of the doomed Titanic #ad - Against all odds, the Titanic is sinking. As desperate hands emerge from the icy water, a few lucky row boats float in the darkness.

#ad



We Sink or Swim Together: An eShort love story

#ad
Avon #ad - It was a matter of life and death …7 May 1915Gerda Nielsen is on her way from Brooklyn to Liverpool aboard the ill-fated Lusitania. Jack walsh is returning to England to take up a post helping the war effort. As he and gerda spend more and more time onboard together they realise that each has found someone very special.

It’s the afternoon before they dock in Liverpool, and tragedy strikes. As the torpedoed ship lists to one side jack and Gerda must make frightening decisions that become a matter of life or death …A beautiful, romantic and moving tale based on a tragic true story. Don’t miss no place for a lady, the epic historical love story by Gill Paul, out July 2015***.

#ad



Another Woman's Husband: A Novel

#ad
William Morrow Paperbacks #ad - Two women who challenged the Crown. Divided by time. By the wreckage, alex finds a heart pendant with an engraved letter “J” and Roman numerals XVII and gives it to Rachel to hold. And wallis has a way with the boys who are drawn to her like moths to a flame. Bound by a secret. 1911: when fifteen-year-old mary kirk meets Wallis Warfield at summer camp, she’s immediately captivated by her fearless, brazen, and self-assured personality.

But when mary’s loyalty to Wallis comes into question, their friendship will be put to the ultimate test. 1997: after a romantic proposal in Paris, Rachel and her fiancé Alex are in a cab when suddenly the car ahead crashes. Though mary’s family isn’t crazy about her new best friend, she steadfastly stands by her side—even years later when they’re adults and rumors swirl about Wallis and her reckless behavior with none other than the Prince of Wales.

Another Woman's Husband: A Novel #ad - They’re stunned to learn Princess Diana is in the car. As the world mourns the loss of diana, princess of wales, one young woman uncovers a forgotten story of passion, betrayal, and a scandal surrounding the British crown in this unforgettable novel by the bestselling author of The Secret Wife. Haunted by the crash and diana’s subsequent death, Rachel is intrigued when she discovers that Di had visited the last home of Wallis, the Duchess of Windsor, only hours before the accident.

Eventually, the revelation of a long-forgotten link to Wallis Simpson leads Rachel to the truth behind a scandal that shook the world.

#ad



War Bonds: Love Stories from the Greatest Generation

#ad
Casemate Publishers #ad - America’s world war ii is most often told through the stories of its great battles, when an entire generation of our young men was suddenly thrust across the oceans to represent the New World in deadly combat against the great powers of the Old. But many among our young men and women did so regardless, and in this book we see how amazingly the “war bonds” of that World War II generation so frequently endured.

On sea, and on land our boys fought against totalitarian powers that threatened to overturn the American ideal of liberty for every individual, in the air, even civilization itself. Whether working in factories or taking care of families, rationing or volunteering, their unflagging support contributed more to our victories than has ever been told.

But while often forgotten, America’s women participated too. A look at love during world war ii that “celebrates not only the personal sacrifices these couples made to serve their country, but also their devotion to one another” San Francisco Book Review. Illustrated with photographs from the 1940s as well as current ones of each couple, War Bonds offers readers a glimpse of bygone days, as well as a poignant glimpse of our own.

War Bonds: Love Stories from the Greatest Generation #ad - Each of the thirty stories begins with a world War II-era song title and concludes with a look at wartime couples in their twilight, as well as when they were so hopeful and young and determined to save the world. It was the worst time of all to try to have a relationship, yet amazingly, thousands of couples created lifelong bonds.

The uncertainty of the time led to an abundance of couples marrying quickly, after brief courtships. During history’s greatest war it was no time to start a relationship.

#ad



The Lost Daughter: A Novel

#ad
William Morrow Paperbacks #ad - Her days are a combination of endless boredom and paralyzing fear; her only respite are clandestine flirtations with a few of the guards imprisoning the family—never realizing her innocent actions could mean the difference between life and death1973: When Val Doyle hears her father’s end-of-life confession, “I didn’t want to kill her, ” she’s stunned.

If you loved i was anastasia by Ariel Lawhon you won't want to miss this novel about her sister, Grand Duchess Maria. So, she begins a search for the truth—about his words and her past. What she finds out pulls val into one of the world’s greatest mysteries—what truly happened to the Grand Duchess Maria?

The Lost Daughter: A Novel #ad - The clues she discovers are baffling—a jewel-encrusted box that won’t open and a camera with its film intact. What really happened to this lost romanov daughter? A new novel perfect for anyone curious about Anastasia, and the other lost Romanov daughters, Maria, by the author of The Secret Wife.1918: pretty, lives with her family in suffocating isolation, vivacious Grand Duchess Maria Romanov, the nineteen-year-old daughter of the fallen Tsar Nicholas II, a far cry from their once-glittering royal household.

#ad



Our Last Goodbye: An absolutely gripping and emotional World War 2 historical novel

#ad
Bookouture #ad - Will have you reaching for the tissues. Sinfully wicked Book Reviews, 5 stars. Heartbroken, may isn’t sure she has the strength to harbour the secret she has kept for so many years – a secret her mother devoted her life to hiding, that would tear their broken family even further apart. Vowing to make her mother proud, may trains to be a nurse at Edgemoor General hospital in South Shields, against a backdrop of wailing air-raid sirens and the eternal drone of enemy planes.

Will tug on even the toughest of heartstrings… My eyes welled up and I definitely needed a box of tissues. Ginger book geek, 5 stars‘fantastic… Loved this beautiful story… Fabulous… Have tissues handy. Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars‘Absolutely fabulous! . But why isn’t he fighting in the war like thousands of other brave young men?May knows how she longs to escape her own past, and her mother’s.

Our Last Goodbye: An absolutely gripping and emotional World War 2 historical novel #ad - A beautiful world war two novel for fans of Wives of War, Lisa Wingate and Diney Costeloe, that will have you reaching for the Kleenex. 1943, england: on a foggy night during the blackout, twenty-five-year-old May Robinson’s mother is tragically killed. Will tug at your heartstrings.

#ad